Goodbye 2016. Hello 2017.

AMY TENG photo

Hello 2017.

It’s been intense.

After an internship at Vancouver Courier where I wrote various articles, ranging from discarded hair made into oil booms to a local karate champion moving on up, I graduated from Langara College in June 2015.

I was immensely satisfied with this achievement because I struggled with a few health issues. I still struggle to today but I’m a fighter.

Always the warrior.

I contributed to New Canadian Media, a national nonprofit media outlet focused on bridging mainstream media and ethnic media.

Contributed to Megaphone magazine, also a nonprofit.

(Yes, I’ve noticed the trend. I seem to have a thing for nonprofits. Where are the for-profits at?)

The piece I contributed to the magazine was a personal essay about my father and his paranoid schizophrenia. One of the hardest things to do is to bare my past to the public. Another was seeing the bigger picture and where my parents fit in that picture.

But now I’ve started.

And it seems I have a knack for personal essays.

What else have I got?

PODCASTING FRIENDS

News Friends is aptly named because it’s basically a bunch of friends getting together to talk about the news. Every so often, the host Michael Lylyk invites me on as a guest.

I was a guest host one time and learned how hard it is to corral people, especially when I’m the one easiest to distract. Still look forward to developing that skill with more opportunities with the mic.

NEW YEAR GOALS

Only got two.

  • Read 100 books.

Last year, I was only able to read 57 books so I was a little hesitant to aim for 100 but what the hey. Just do it. Going full throttle.

To assist me with this goal, I’ve downloaded the Vancouver Public Library’s eBook reader app to keep me occupied during my commutes. Guilt and determination will move my finger from the Gems of War icon to my current eBook.

Don’t worry. Still going to haul the real deal around with me.

First, I need to learn the basic rules of Dungeons and Dragons. Then I’ll be the warrior bard that leads my friends on an adventure.

A first date with an intriguing man turned me to the idea of Dungeons and Dragons. This was about a year and a half ago. Somehow, the seed bloomed into this crazy idea to be a Dungeon Master. So here I am.

But first, the basic rules. Then, fame and fortune.

Baby steps.

“Excuses don’t explain and explanations don’t excuse.” – Darryl McDaniels

