I won the BCYCNA Community Scholarship award

KAYLA ISOMURA photo

I am a proud and happy writer.

Journalism department head of Langara College Frances Bula announced last week, the British Columbia and Yukon Community Newspaper Association Scholarship recipients from our program. I am one of four to receive the award.

Although I was a bit under the weather at the time it was announced, I was very happy I made the effort to apply.

When I received an email informing me I won the scholarship, it requested a headshot and a short bio. I grabbed my classmate Kayla and she snapped one for me. (Thank you, darling.)

For my future, there isn’t any specific goal. All I know is my drive to write and that is what I am listening to.

The other three recipients are Sacha Porteous, Jules Knox, and Katja De Bock. Knowing how hard-working and smart these people are, with more life experience than me, I am humbled to be listed beside them.

2 comments